Our Latest Reviews

Chelsea Lind Avatar
Chelsea Lind
5/11/2024
We were recommended to use Shades of Blue for Charter services during our USVI stay. The boat was very clean and well stocked with anything you could need for your day. Aaron was very knowledgeable of the best spots to see, snorkel, and eat. He was also able to provide pieces of history about the islands while driving around which I never would have known before. The pricing was very reasonable and I would highly recommend anyone to do it again, I know we would love to.
Katie Davis Avatar
Katie Davis
4/30/2024
Steven at Sapphire recommended SOBC, and they got us in last minute! We had a wonderful boat ride with Mike!! He took us to great snorkel spots, Pizza Pi, and was knowledgeable of the history of the island. He made sure we squeezed in as much as we could with our time. Mike also comes with great picture taking skills! 10 out of 10 would recommend and book again! Thanks Mike!
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2
Sarah Smith Avatar
Sarah Smith
4/11/2024
After reading all the great reviews about Shades of Blue Charters, we decided to book our own charter and see for ourselves what all the rave is about! We are a group of five women from Boston. Mike and Tim were professional and were super patient with the five of us and all of our requests. Our adventure started at the marina at Sapphire Beach-parking is free and plenty. Both Captains were there waiting for us and ready to head out after our safety briefing. We went to Foxxys, Sandy Spit, Soggy Dollar and Hendos! The Shady Lady is a beautiful and comfortable boat and has plenty of space to move around. Drinks, lunch, beautiful waters and a fun day! As a frequent traveler to St. Thomas and have used many charters-Shades of Blue goes above and beyond from the time of booking to the end of the the trip-everything was super easy. Thank you Shades of Blue-you made our favorite day on the island the day we spent with you! Definitely booking our next trip with Shades of Blue! The Boston girls
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1
BCxyz1234 Avatar
BCxyz1234
5 star rating
3/29/2024
Great Charter! Had two great charters with shades of blue. Capt Tim and Capt Mike were great! Kept my teenage boys entertained all day. Thoroughly enjoyed both charters and wouldn’t hesitate to use Shades of Blue again!
Sarah S Avatar
Sarah S
5 star rating
3/28/2024
The BEST in St. Thomas!! After reading all the great reviews about Shades of Blue Charters, we decided to book our own charter and see for ourselves what all the rave is about!

We are a group of five women from Boston. Mike and Tim were professional and were super patient with the five of us and all of our requests. Our adventure started at the marina at Sapphire Beach-parking is free and plenty. Both Captains were there waiting for us and ready to head out after our safety briefing. We went to Foxxys, Sandy Spit, Soggy Dollar and Hendos!

The Shady Lady is a beautiful and comfortable boat and has plenty of space to move around. Drinks, lunch, beautiful waters and a fun day!

As a frequent traveler to St. Thomas and have used many charters-Shades of Blue goes above and beyond from the time of booking to the end of the the trip-everything was super easy.

Thank you Shades of Blue-you made our favorite day on the island the day we spent with you! Definitely booking our next trip with Shades of Blue!

The Boston girls
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2
Ariane Miller Avatar
Ariane Miller
3/20/2024
Our day on the water with Shades of Blue was one of the best days during our trip! When booking, the team was very responsive to email and were a huge help in the planning process. The day of the trip, Aaron was extremely accommodating and took us everywhere we wanted to go. The boat is well appointed with anything you would need to have a great boat day, as well as extremely smooth. Aaron’s experience and knowledge is a great asset for keeping the day moving and getting everything in. We started our full BVI Day at the Indians then the Caves for some snorkeling, had a delicious lunch at Pirates Bight on Norman Island, had a drink & a jump at the Willy T, walked Sandy Spit & then finished up in White Bay on Jost, hitting up several beach bars along the shore including the Soggy Dollar. It was a great day and I would highly recommend Shades of Blue for your next trip to the USVI.
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2media thumbnail 3media thumbnail 4media thumbnail 5media thumbnail 6
Pete Matthews Avatar
Pete Matthews
3/10/2024
Aaron took us on an amazing half day snorkel tour to Leinster, Caneel, and Salomon Bays. Smooth ride and excellent service on a beautiful morning in St John! Added a few photos from our trip.
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2media thumbnail 3media thumbnail 4
Kim England Avatar
Kim England
3/05/2024
Fabulous trip around the islands!! Captain and mate were wonderful. Very informative and took us to see less travelled places. Will definitely return and do more exploring with you!
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2
Hayden Row Avatar
Hayden Row
3/04/2024
I highly recommend booking shades of blue charters for your boating excursion. Mike and Aaron took great care of us and helped created the perfect day on the water, providing recommendations of places to go based on our groups interest. They also handle all of the customs paperwork for BVI trips so you don’t have to stress about anything. Thanks Mike and Aaron!
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2
Michelle Holland Avatar
Michelle Holland
2/28/2024
Mike and his amazing crew, such as Aaron, have continued to be our “go to” when chartering in the USVI for several years now. Each and every time we have chartered for a full day, our intention is to indulge in some of our favorite spots, such as Pizza Pi or arriving at a cay before the cruise crowds arrive, and then discovering new snorkel spots only accessible by boat or where the waters are not overly crowded. Their new boat, Shady Lady, rides seamlessly and handles the waves with ease as well! There are clearly a wealth of options to choose from, however, if you genuinely want to experience St. Thomas and/or St. John, Shades of Blue will absolutely cater to your every wish!
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2media thumbnail 3media thumbnail 4
Donald Vaughan Avatar
Donald Vaughan
2/26/2024
We had two of our granddaughters down for their 16th birthdays and decided to use Shades of Blue to take us around the islands. Aaron was our Captain and he did a wonderful job of showing our teens the islands while playing Taylor Swift for them. They had a great time and I know they will always cherish their experiences.
Yichen Tian Avatar
Yichen Tian
1/15/2024
Captain Tim was amazing! Knowledgeable and caring, we saw 4 turtles, 1 sea star, ray, all kinds of fishes during our 3-hr snorkeling tour 🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼
media thumbnail 0
Nick Stowe Avatar
Nick Stowe
1/15/2024
We had an incredible half day snorkel trip with Captain Tim. We saw four sea turtles, a sea star, hundreds of fish, and even a sunken boat. We'd highly recommend Shades of Blue.
media thumbnail 0
TBDNext Avatar
TBDNext
5 star rating
12/30/2023
Shades of Blue full Day powercat tour in St. Thomas Great experience. Aaron was our captain and took us wherever we wanted to go. We went snorkeling and hit cool beaches and a floating pizza place. Just sailing around the islands was great but the stops made it even better.
These guys did a great job!! You can thank me later.
Larry R Avatar
Larry R
5 star rating
12/30/2023
Shades of Blue full Day powercat tour in St. Thomas Great experience. Aaron was our captain and took us wherever we wanted to go. We went snorkeling and hit cool beaches and a floating pizza place. Just sailing around the islands was great but the stops made it even better.
These guys did a great job!! You can thank me later.
Anna Valenzuela Avatar
Anna Valenzuela
8/03/2023
We did the full day charter with Captain Aaron. We had such an amazing time! We were able to see so much and snorkel in many different places. The kids wanted to see Hermit crabs and Captain Aaron delivered. They were so excited watching and racing them! Captain Aaron’s calm and patient demeanor made the trip that much more enjoyable. Would definitely recommend and book again if we go back to the Virgin Islands!
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2media thumbnail 3media thumbnail 4media thumbnail 5media thumbnail 6media thumbnail 7
Sorelle Skelton Avatar
Sorelle Skelton
7/30/2023
Don’t hesitate on booking this charter! You will love every minute of it! The boat was awesome. They were so knowledgeable about the area. We got to snorkel. They took us to so many great spots. We couldn’t have asked for a better time!! Definitely the highlight of our trip!
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2media thumbnail 3media thumbnail 4media thumbnail 5media thumbnail 6media thumbnail 7
Deanna Ferguson Avatar
Deanna Ferguson
7/25/2023
We chose the three hour tour due to the limitations of our cruise schedule. That said, it was probably the best three hours of my life. Even though I’ve snorkeled many times, this experience was so special because it was a small group and we could go to little places and move along quickly to make the most of our morning. I got to be right up close to green sea turtles, a nurse shark, and scores of fish. We snorkeled reef, grass flats and a sunken boat area and they even made a special stop so that we could experience the pizza boat. Add that all together plus the perfect island playlist, Captain Aaron’s calm expertise/wealth of jokes and trivia… this experience is seriously not to be missed! It’s way more than just a beautiful day. Booking was easy and communication with Mike (the owner) was straightforward and stress-free. He even helped me arrange transportation to/from the marina and ship’s port. I would give seven stars if I could. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2media thumbnail 3
Jane LaFerrara Avatar
Jane LaFerrara
6/29/2023
I highly recommend Shades of Blue and captain Aaron. It was one of the best days of our trip. Aaron took us sightseeing around the island and brought us to some amazing spots for snorkeling. The perfect end to our day was when Aaron brought us to @pizzapivi for delicious pizza and a beautiful sunset. A great day all around…can’t wait to go back!
janelA665XN Avatar
janelA665XN
5 star rating
6/28/2023
A perfect day on the water! I highly recommend Shades of Blue and captain Aaron. It was one of the best days of our trip. Aaron took us sightseeing around the island and brought us to some amazing spots for snorkeling. The perfect end to our day was when Aaron brought us to @pizzapivi for delicious pizza and a beautiful sunset. A great day all around can’t wait to go back!
Katie Thompson Avatar
Katie Thompson
6/23/2023
Captain Aaron was wonderful - knowledgeable, affable, funny, unobtrusive, patient. A gem! The sunset was spectacular, the sea turtles were charming, the pizza boat was delicious. 10 out of 10 recommend. No drops of Rum Punch left behind!
media thumbnail 0
smccr48 Avatar
smccr48
5 star rating
6/21/2023
Shades of Blue Blew Us Away Our Sunset cruise with Shades of Blue was fantastic in every way! Captain Aaron was terrific! He was super efficient, friendly, knowledgeable, and so good with our seven year old grandson. Every action he took was focused on giving us the best experience possible. The snorkeling in two spots was wonderful. The pizza was delicious. The sunset was so beautiful. Having great sound system for our playlists was a plus. The rum punch was a hit! The Island Girl was very clean and well provisioned, providing good space for family time. We all absolutely loved everything about it and it exceeded our expectations by a lot!
Kristen Giordano Avatar
Kristen Giordano
6/11/2023
We booked this trip for our 10 year wedding anniversary and Mike and Captain Aaron made it very memorable & a one of a kind experience we will never forget. It was my husband’s first time to the USVI’s & Mike went out of his way to accommodate us! Beautiful snorkel spots & unique private beach! We highly recommend booking through Shades of Blue Charters! Hope to visit again!
Anne Chowske Avatar
Anne Chowske
6/07/2023
We had the very best time on our private sunset cruise with Mike and Debbie on 6/4- our 35th Anniversary! They made us feel comfortable and felt like long time friends. They gave us a bottle Of champagne to toast on our cruise, which was so thoughtful. We saw many great beaches, historical places and other places of interest. We drove fast through some areas, which my husband and I both loved! The water spray and the exhilaration were amazing! We got fantastic photos of the sunset, which was just amazing. We would highly recommend Shades of Blue to anyone looking for a more personalized cruise/charter!
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2media thumbnail 3media thumbnail 4media thumbnail 5media thumbnail 6
Jason Shelton Avatar
Jason Shelton
5/31/2023
Wow, what a trip! Aaron, our Captian was tremendous! Our 1st trip to St. Thomas and they stuffed everything we could want into our 1/2 day. St. John, snorkeling, swimming with sea turtles and so many great photo stops! These guys treat ya right. Our family of 6 (4 kids 18-22) had an afternoon we won’t forget! Thanks Gentlemen… God bless, till next time!
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2
Jason S Avatar
Jason S
5 star rating
5/31/2023
Perfect Afternoon! Wow! We were cruising with our 4 kids (18-22 years old) and they all said this was the highlight! Aaron was great and provided information and could not have been more helpful to our crew from Tennessee! Worth every dime for this experience!
Suril Dalal Avatar
Suril Dalal
5/16/2023
My group and I had an absolutely amazing time with Shades of Blue! We booked a full day charter and it was 100% worth it! We saw dolphins, turtles, and tons of fish and coral! Our Captains were super friendly and really assisted our group in feeling comfortable in the water. Even after 7 hours out there we came back wishing we could stay out longer. The boat also looks really nice! I know theres tons of choices for charters (I compared a lot myself) but these guys are both top notch and at a really reasonable price.
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2
jenniferfO7508DH Avatar
jenniferfO7508DH
5 star rating
5/01/2023
Beyond expectations. We had a great experience with the 3 hour tour. Captain Kirk made sure we saw lots of amazing things and had great stories. We were originally booked on a different day but got rained out. We were so appreciative of Shades of Blue’s efforts to find another time so that we could still get this activity in. We had adults and teenagers in our group and everyone thought this was one of the best things we did on our trip.
media thumbnail 0
367reggier Avatar
367reggier
5 star rating
4/25/2023
Perfection Aaron was amazing and this charter was easily the highlight of our trip to VI! He knows all of the best spots to see sea turtles, sting rays, starfish, coral reef & more!
media thumbnail 0
ShannonPecorelli Avatar
ShannonPecorelli
5 star rating
4/24/2023
Best day of vacation, hands down! My family and I (grandparents down to young kids) had an amazing day on our charter. Captain Aaron took us to a few snorkeling spots where we got to see fish, seas turtles, and even a shipwreck. He was super knowledgeable about the area and made sure we had the best time. We stopped at Pizza Pi for lunch and had a blast! The communication before our trip was great, and we found the marina easily. Thank you Captain Aaron for our families “best day of vacation” and we hope to see you again!
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2media thumbnail 3

{ Escape with us for a day }

There is no other boat like her in the Virgin Islands.
Book a trip today and experience the difference for yourself.