Our Latest Reviews

patsy8993 Avatar
patsy8993
5 star rating
1/15/2023 - TripAdvisor

Beautiful Birthday with Shades of Blue! Had a great day with Captain Kirk & Cindy! Loved boating, snorkeling (turtles, starfish, rays) in beautiful coves with white sand beaches. Great lunch at Lovongo. They made my husband’s birthday one he’ll always remember!

media thumbnail 0
Kevin Barton Avatar
Kevin Barton
11/27/2022 - Google

Went out with Shades of Blue Charters today for a full day tour of St. John’s and a lunch stop on St. Thomas. We were picked up in Cruz Bay on a beautiful power catamaran with twin 300hp Suzuki 4 stroke motors. The engines were super quiet and smooth. The boat had a Bimini cover for the entire boat to keep us shaded from the sun. Captain Aaron was delightful and accommodating. He first took us on a sight seeing tour of some of the most beautiful coves on the north side of the island. Then we went snorkeling at a few of his favorite spots that are difficult to access by land. He gave us numerous lunch options, but we ultimately decided on Sapphire Beach on St. Thomas since we had not been over there. The food was great and there were multiple options including gourmet pizza and tacos overlooking a gorgeous beach with probably the nicest view of the islands to be found. Booking the boat was also quite easy and they were very responsive answering the phone. This was our family’s favorite day in St. John getting to see the islands by private boat. Thanks so much again for the experience and look forward to seeing you guys again on our next visit. Cheers!

Tim Gould Avatar
Tim Gould
11/27/2022 - Google

Captain Aaron took us out on a fantastic thanksgiving adventure. The boat was fabulous. The rum punch was top notch. I know he didn’t make the weather but the weather was perfect! We went to St. John and explored some of the beaches and crystal blue waters. If your gonna take a tour the St. John waters is the best I have seen in my life. Aaron was east to talk with. Easy to deal with. Super chill.

Gerald Greeley Avatar
Gerald Greeley
6/13/2022 - Google

Beautiful boat! Had a fabulous day checking out beaches and snorkeling. Captain Aaron was top notch. He gave us island history and new great spots. Highly recommend and will be sure to book again on our next trip.

Gerald G Avatar
Gerald G
5 star rating
6/05/2022 - TripAdvisor

Awesome day on the sea in the USVI. Outstanding day on Island Girl with Captain Aaron. A beautiful boat and great sites to see. We enjoyed the snorkeling and education.

We highly recommend Shades of Blue!

Jacklynn G Avatar
Jacklynn G
5 star rating
5/29/2022 - TripAdvisor

Excellent Day Captain Aaron was great!! We had a beautiful day on the water with amazing snorkeling. Aaron showed us several spots and was a great tour guide!!

media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1
Nate Diller Avatar
Nate Diller
5/13/2022 - Google

Absolutely loved my time spent with Blue Charters. Our Captain was great and extremely accommodating. Took us to see all kinds of fun places and snorkel areas you couldn't get to by driving. The Painkillers did their job, and we all had a blast. We would book with them again without question.

marlisa larkin Avatar
marlisa larkin
5/13/2022 - Google

This trip was amazing. My husband and I heard about shades of blue after meeting one of the crew members while at a restaurant. We decided to splurge for it and it was completely worth it. Kirk was amazing so knowledgeable and a great guy all around. He made us feel at home on the boat and took us for some great snorkeling and to a great spot for lunch. We tried snorkeling the day before on our own and it did not compare to this experience at all. Hands down best day of our honeymoon so far!

David Craft Avatar
David Craft
5/13/2022 - Google

This was our second trip with Shades of Blue. Mike has a fantastic team assembled to make a perfect day for clients on the water. Our first trip was with Captain 'G' and our second was with Captain Kirk. Both trips were excellent! The crew is extremely accomodating and you can easily create your own design for the day. There is an extended sun canopy for plenty of shade and sun protection on board and a great variety of music play lists. Shades of Blue is very fuel efficient and has a smooth ride even in choppy water due to its double hull design and yet there is plenty of power to move from place to place quickly. The boats low draft allows the crew to easily nose you in to the beach for a walk or swim. I can't recommend Shades of Blue high enough. We can't wait to return for our next adventure!

C.T. Blount Avatar
C.T. Blount
5/13/2022 - Google

What an amazing experience! The captain and staff were so much fun and extremely knowledgable. It was the perfect way to celebrate my birthday. The beaches of St. John are mind blowing and the staff makes awesome Painkillers! If I ever find myself in St. Thomas again, I'll definitely reach out to Shades of Blue for a day at sea.

Maranda Everson Avatar
Maranda Everson
4/13/2022 - Google

Fabulous Time! We loved everything about our day on the water with Shades of Blue! Captain G was the best! I highly recommend this charter service to anyone vacationing on the USVI. A custom trip versus a cattle boat. You can bring snacks, beverages and music. A unique way to see the beautiful islands of USVI.

Dave Mohr Avatar
Dave Mohr
4/07/2022 - Google

Once again Captain Arron provided us with a great time on the water. First Mate Amy was great as well. The boat was perfect even with 9 guests aboard. It was very roomy with plenty of seating and compartments for everything. It was also very clean. The boat design makes it very stable and it cuts through the waves cleanly. The highlight of the day was the dolphin activity in Maho Bay... amazing! Thanks for a great day on the water!

Michelle Long Avatar
Michelle Long
3/13/2022 - Google

We had a fantastic day with Captain Kirk! He is very knowledgeable about the USVI and all things boating so he had great stories and history to share with us. We went to some excellent snorkeling spots and saw lots of wildlife. The boat was in great shape and recently updated. I highly recommend a day charter with Shades of Blue! It was a highlight of our trip!

Ryan Schnell Avatar
Ryan Schnell
3/13/2022 - Google

An exceptional experience led to an exceptional day! From the first call with Mike, the owner, helping with any and all questions, even before booking, to an amazing day on the water with our Captain Kirk, it was great! We had an extraordinary time snorkeling around St. Thomas and St. John’s! Captain Kirk was full of knowledge, experiences and took us to many fantastic places! We highly recommend Shades of Blue and will definitely be back! Thank you Mike and Captain Kirk for an amazing experience!

AndyCookieinparadise Avatar
AndyCookieinparadise
5 star rating
3/03/2022 - TripAdvisor

Amazing Day on the Water We had our daughter, son in law and a bunch of friends down and did our second charter with Shades in early March 2022. It was another amazing day on the water! It was Captain Aaron’s first day taking the boat on his own and with the help of first mate Nick, did an awesome job. We put them to the test with a full day of travel! First to Lime Out then all the way to Water Island then back over to Lovango with some other stops along the way. The boat gives a smooth ride even when crossing Pillsbury Sound and the twin 300’s provide more than enough power. What more can I say! All our guests had a day they’ll never forget.

media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2
E2136TQjohnh Avatar
E2136TQjohnh
5 star rating
2/25/2022 - TripAdvisor

Best day of our vacation! What a great day! Our captains, Arron and Gerren were both welcoming and fun. They went above and beyond to make sure we had the best day of our vacation. A call the night before gave them an idea of the kind of day we were looking for. They put together an itinerary for us that made it the perfect day.They brought us to unbelievable snorkeling spots they knew to be less crowded than the well known spots. They even brought us to a ship wreck to explore which was amazing. For lunch, we took a ride to Pizza Pi which I would highly recommend. My 11 year old daughter said it was the best pizza she’s ever had. I wouldn’t go that far but it was a really good pie. After lunch they brought us to a beach to hang out and were the only ones there! We also swung by happy island and did some exploring where we found an unbelievable amount of hermit crabs and really cool shells. If you’re looking to do charter a boat for the day, I strongly recommend Shades of Blue. The boat is comfortable with plenty of space. The double hull design makes for a smooth ride even in rough seas. The crew couldn’t have been better. Once you step on board, you feel like your hanging out with longtime friends for the day. The crew was very capable and safety conscious. Being locals, they had plenty of interesting information to offer throughout the day. We learned a lot! All in all, it was a great day to spend the day as a family in one of the most beautiful places on earth. We will definitely be back next year!! Thank you, Arron and Gerren!

media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1
Mike Tokarcik Avatar
Mike Tokarcik
2/13/2022 - Google

Our group of 3 adult couples took a full day trip with Shades of Blue going all the way around St. John on 1/12/2022 and it was fantastic! Our captain Gerren was very entertaining with facts and history about St. John and surrounding islands and took us to some of the best snorkeling and swimming beaches we've ever seen. We swam with dozens of huge sea turtles, starfish, stingrays, and saw beautiful coral and fish as we hopped from beach to beach and cove to cove. We even had time for a quick spin around the St James islands and a mega yacht that was anchored near Cruz Bay. Scheduling the trip was a breeze. The pickup and drop off was simple (right off the Cruz Bay beach) and even the snorkeling equipment exceeded our expectations. We absolutely recommend Shades of Blue Charters!

Andy Fulchino Avatar
Andy Fulchino
2/13/2022 - Google

Great day on the water! We had guests in and everyone had fun. For my wife and I it was our first visit to Lovango and to snorkel at Caneel Bay. All good! The mini cat moves right along. It’s got some good power! Captain Kirk and Arron were great and we highly recommend them for your trip out. Mike is the owner of the Island Girl and he was great to work with as well. We live on St. Thomas for the winter so we’ll be back for sure as new guests come in!

kernelklink00 Avatar
kernelklink00
5 star rating
1/28/2022 - TripAdvisor

Great Snorkelling and Fun Times with a Knowledgeable Crew! Captain Kirk has broad knowledge and experience about the area and was able to take us places other charters might not know about (certainly none of our previous charters had shown us these gems).

Kirk and Cindy were very kind and conscientious of our kids (3 and 7), showing them where to find turtles and rays, and where ships of yore once unloaded cannons against a Rocky key--really sparked the 3 year old's imagination.

The icing on the cake, though, was a luxurious meal at Lovango, after which my toddler fell asleep in my lap while we raced across the Caribbean to snorkel at Christmas Cove.

My 3 year old would like me to add that Kirk looks like Captain America.

media thumbnail 0
CindyOcean Avatar
CindyOcean
5 star rating
1/27/2022 - TripAdvisor

Love Shades of Blue Charters!!! Love Shades of Blue Charters!!! Enjoyed a perfect day on the water with the famous Captain Kirk and Cindy!!! Boarded at the Sapphire Marina then enjoyed an amazing tour of the best beaches and snorkel spots on and around St John and surrounding islands!!! Saw many sea turtles, some sting rays and many beautiful fish!!! Delicious lunch at Lovango!!! Love Captain Kirk and Cindy and Shades of Blue!!! Looking forward to taking Shades of Blue again soon!!!❤

alanhI5772TK Avatar
alanhI5772TK
5 star rating
12/30/2021 - TripAdvisor

Liming out What a great day with Gerin and Alison! They were fun, knowledgeable and super easy going! They showed us just what it means to “lime out”. Swimming, snorkeling, vibing to some good island music was just what we needed and they delivered and then some. Don't hesitate Just book them. You won't be disappointed!

media thumbnail 0
Caryn Kay Avatar
Caryn Kay
11/20/2021 - Google

Captain Aaron was great! Our two families had the best day cruising around St Thomas and St John. Comfortable and spacious boat. Had everything we needed. Was very knowledgeable and helped us to find the best snorkeling spots. My son repeatedly said that this was his favorite day of our trip. We will definitely be reserving a day charter from them next time we are down. Thanks so much for a great day!

I7224LJbrendaa Avatar
I7224LJbrendaa
5 star rating
7/27/2021 - TripAdvisor

Summertime Fun I love cruising the waters and the crew was very accommodating and great about telling us about the area, etc. I would definitely book again and recommend them. Captain Anthony was GREAT!

Voyager58924316021 Avatar
Voyager58924316021
5 star rating
7/24/2021 - TripAdvisor

Young Forever Unquestionably, the highlight of our vacation. Captain G and First Mate Anthony were welcoming, knowledgeable, and highly entertaining. Spectacular scenery, perfect snorkeling, and a memorable playlist on “sporty” seas. Our favorite excursion!!

larsonh635 Avatar
larsonh635
5 star rating
7/23/2021 - TripAdvisor

Sad We Only Booked 1/2 Day Charter We had a great time with Shades of Blue! Anthony is very knowledgeable of the area and answered any questions we had. TP is a lot of fun as well and made everyone feel at home! We will definitely use Shades of Blue the next time we visit St. John.

Kthylnrd Avatar
Kthylnrd
5 star rating
7/23/2021 - TripAdvisor

Great day at sea! One of the best charter days we have done! We left from St. John and decided to explore the waters and bays of st Thomas . Boat Captain Gerrin was absolutely amazing ! Not only was he fun and cute .he took us to places we’ve never been, told us stories we’ve never heard and was so knowledgeable about the islands in general!

media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2media thumbnail 3
610vickig Avatar
610vickig
5 star rating
7/20/2021 - TripAdvisor

Captain Tony Rocks the Day! Captain Tony was so much fun!! He helped make this trip super enjoyable for our 2 grandsons, who were celebrating their birthdays. He told jokes with them, enjoyed music and did some singing, and even scored them on their cannonballs into the water. He showed us some great places that were perfect for the age group and experience level of the kids. Super nice guy, lots of fun.

primitivea2021 Avatar
primitivea2021
5 star rating
7/13/2021 - TripAdvisor

Awesome trip! Amazing trip even though BVI wasn’t open. Anthony and Taylor were extremely knowledgeable and found other areas of interest. Several in our party had never been and it’s being talked about for days. Nice clean boat. Highly recommend.

media thumbnail 0
864buffyf Avatar
864buffyf
5 star rating
7/07/2021 - TripAdvisor

Great day on the water! Gerren was a great captain - he picked us up and dropped us off by High Tide - which was awesome! He had recommendations for a few great snorkel spots and knew when we should order pizza pi! I loved the tour of St. Thomas and his ability to mix lore with facts. It was a blast!

media thumbnail 0
adammU3295JV Avatar
adammU3295JV
5 star rating
6/28/2021 - TripAdvisor

One of the best ways to see the islands! All 9 of us agree that our day with Shades of Blue Charters was our best day on the island! Captain Kirk and Captain Garren (hope I spelled that right!) were both amazing and the kids (and adults) loved hearing all about the history of the islands! The snorkel spots were incredible with no hiking required! Just jump in, look as long as you like, and then hop back on board and you are off again! I would highly recommend Lovango for a lunch spot you won't soon forget. When we are back on St. John, we will be booking Shades of Blue again!!!!

media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2media thumbnail 3

{ Escape with us for a day }

There is no other boat like her in the Virgin Islands.
Book a trip today and experience the difference for yourself.